Welcome to InsideFont

Encodings & UNi-Codes

Unicode are the identifiers (ID) of glyphs, 'cause the question in a computer is in fact – Which character is this, inside of this font actually? A Unicode is a number assigned to a font character as its ID. This assignation is done by the ISO (International Organization of Standardization). Unicode have a long history which can be read here. The Unicode are separated in ranges in dependence of which language or writing system they belong to. For example there are areas for “Basic Latin”, “Mathematical Operators” or “Greek and Coptic”.

IIn this tab, the Unicode, found for the selected font will be presented. In the upper left there a graphical overview about the so called BMP (Basic Multilingual Plane), these are the Unicode from U+0000 up to U+FFFF. In this control you can click the ranges to get an overview about its glyphs..

In the lower left there’s a tree control which also displays the ranges and the related glyph indices of TrueType and CFF fonts. In PostScript Type1 fonts instead of the Glyph-Index the Glyph Name will be displayed.

In the “About” menu there is a link “Show Summary Text” if this is activated a text control will be displayed below which contains Unicode information in an easy-to-copy format. This link has a similar effect to the tab “All Font Files”.

Willkommen auf InsideFont

Encodings & UNi-Codes

Unicodes sind die Identifikatoren (ID) von Glyphen, den die Frage in einem Computer ist doch - Was für ein Zeichen ist das in diesem Font hier überhaupt? Ein Unicode ist eine Zahl, die einem Schriftzeichen als ID zugewiesen wurde. Diese Zuweisung erfolgt durch die ISO (International Organization for Standardization), Unicodes haben eine lange Geschichte nachzulesen hier. Die Unicodes werden in Bereiche eingeteilt, je nachdem aus welcher Sprache oder Schriftsystem sie stammen. Da gibt es z.B. Bereiche für "Basic Latin”, "Mathematical Operators” oder "Greek and Coptic”.

In dieser Registerkarte werden die für den selektierten Font gefunden Unicodes präsentiert. Oben links ist eine graphische Übersicht über den sogenannte BMP (Basic Multilingual Plane), dies snid die Unicodes von U+0000 bis U+FFFF. In diesem Control können die Bereiche angeklickt werden, um dann rechts eine Übersicht der Glyphen präsentiert zu bekommen.

Unten links ist ein Tree Control, das ebenfalls die Unicodebereiche anzeigt und die zugehörigen Glyph-Indizes in TrueType und CFF Fonts. In PostScript Type1 Fonts wird anstelle eines Glyph-Index der Glyph-Name dargestellt.

Im Menü “About” gibt es einen Menüpunkt “Show Summary Text”, wird er aktiviert dann wird unten ein Text Control eingeblendet, das die Unicode Informationen in einer kopierbaren Form enthält. Dieser Menüpunkt hat auch eine ähnlich Auswirkung auf die erste Registerkarte “All Font Files”.